If you have been charged with an assault crime, you will be wondering Assault Case how to get your case dismissed. This is possible, depending on the circumstances. And at the very least, a great lawyer will be able to help you get a reduced sentence in court. Before we dive into that, we will explain what an assault case is and the three levels of criminal assault charges you could be faced with. Each level carries a different range of criminal sentences, so it is worth knowing a bit more about assault charges and their consequences. Then, we will discuss getting a case dismissed. Let’s dive into this brief guide.
What is an Assault Case?
An assault is a criminal act of causes of physical assault or making unwanted physical contact with another person. In some legal cases, an attempt to cause actual bodily harm or make unwanted physical contact can also count as assault.
In Colorado, an assault is defined as any unlawful contact resulting in another person’s injury. Depending on the severity of the incident and who was involved, this offense can be treated as a misdemeanor or a felony. If you are charged with assault, you should contact a criminal defense attorney in Denver, Colorado as soon as possible to discuss your case. Be sure to do your research on assault charges and criminal lawyers in your area, so you are armed with the knowledge and support you need to get the best result possible.
We will kick-start your research by briefly detailing the three levels of criminal assault that you could potentially be charged with.
Three Levels of Criminal Assault
When it comes to being charged with an assault, there are three different levels of assault, depending on the severity of the crime. Each level carries a different range of potential sentences if proven guilty. Various circumstances can lead to an assault charge being filed, from the use of a deadly weapon to attempts to harass a police officer and everything in between.
Third Degree Assault
The least severe level of assault is third-degree assault. If you knowingly, recklessly or negligently cause harm to a person using a potentially deadly weapon, you can be charged with third-degree assault. Moreover, annoying or harassing a police officer can also qualify as third-degree assault.
As it is the least severe of the three levels of assault, third-degree assault is classed as a misdemeanor and carries a sentence of 6 to 24 months.
Second Degree Assault
You may be charged with second-degree assault if you have caused intentional harm to another person or if you have intentionally used a deadly weapon. Moreover, if you have caused injury to a police officer or prevented a police officer from doing their job, these actions also fall under the category of second-degree assault.
A second-degree assault carries a sentence of 5 to 16 years, depending on the circumstances and the severity of the crime.
First Degree Assault
This is the most severe kind of assault a person can commit, and of course, this makes it a felony. If you have caused intentional and serious harm to another person with a weapon that could be considered deadly, you will be charged with first-degree assault.
If the injury caused poses a risk of disfigurement, permanent bodily impairment or death, it is considered serious. This kind of violent crime carries a sentence of 10 to 32 years, depending on the judge’s ruling.
Now that you have a better understanding of what an assault charge is, let’s talk about how to get a charge dismissed.
Assault Case Dismissal
There are a couple of ways that you can get an assault case dismissed. For one thing, the state of Colorado’s statute of limitations for a misdemeanor is 18 months. This means that if the state has not started the prosecution process by the 18-month point, the defendant can move to have the case dismissed.
If the state begins the prosecution process, the best thing you can do to get your case dismissed or at least get the best result possible in court is to call a law teacher criminal law. An assault charge can become a huge burden and land you in a lot of trouble if it is allowed to spin out of control. Before you let this happen, it is wise to get a great attorney on your side.
Hire an Expert Criminal Attorney
With the right lawyer who specializes in defending people charged with criminal activity, you will stand a good chance of getting your case dismissed in court. At the very least, a great law teacher criminal law will help you to get the best deal in court. That is the shortest sentence that they can get you, considering the battery crime.
Make sure you hire a lawyer that has a good track record of success. Read online testimonies from former satisfied clients and consult with a lawyer before you commit to using their services. This is the best way to ensure that you are in good hands and feel comfortable with your legal representation.
You have the best shot at success if you can confide fully in your lawyer and trust that they will get the job done to the best of their ability. Try not to hold out on your lawyer or withhold evidence or information that could be significant.
This has been a quick and simple guide to Assault Case great reputation and how to get them dismissed. We have detailed what an assault charge is and explained that there are three levels of criminal assault and battery crime. First and second-degree assault are felonies, while third-degree assault is a misdemeanor. If the state has not begun the prosecution process for your misdemeanor within 18 months of the date of the incident, you can file for dismissal of your case. Alternatively, you can hire an expert criminal lawyer for your misdemeanor or felony charge and provide them with all of the necessary evidence to get you the best deal possible in court.
Remember to do your research and hire a lawyer Assault Case with an excellent track record and a lot of satisfied former clients. Good luck with your case!